An offender of California’s DUI law may be facing the following punishments/penalties depending on whether he/she is a first time offender; whether the offense is charged as a misdemeanor or felony; the facts of the case; and the offender’s criminal history:
Misdemeanor charge: Offenses under this code section are typically charged as misdemeanors for the first, second, and third time DUI offenders. If that is the case, a defendant faces:
- A maximum jail sentence of 6 months in county jail
- A fine between $390 and $1,000
- A 6-month to 3-year driver’s license suspension
- Informal probation
- Installation of a California ignition interlock device “IID”
- Successful completion of a DUI program, the length of which varies depending on factors like your BAC at the time of arrest
Felony charge: If you have committed your fourth DUI offense within a 10-year period, or have committed a DUI causing injury pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 23153(b) — Driving With 0.08 Percent Blood Alcohol Causing Injury, you may face the following penalties:
- A maximum prison sentence of 3 years in state prison
- A 4-year driver’s license revocation
- Formal probation
- Designation by the DMV as a habitual traffic offender
How can we defend you against charges of California Vehicle Code 23152(b) Driving with a BAC of 0.08% or Greater?
Under California Vehicle Code Section 23152(b) it is illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher.
There is a rebuttable presumption that if the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving, that the person is guilty of DUI, whether or not the person was actually driving under the influence.
We have been successfully defending clients facing all types of criminal charges in Sonoma and Marin Counties, since 1992.
The 100 Trial Lawyers Association has recognized us as one of the best criminal defense attorneys in the country!
Please call our office today at (707) 571-8600 in our centrally located Santa Rosa office in Sonoma County or call our office in San Rafael in Marin County at (415) 492-4507 to schedule a free and confidential case evaluation.
Don’t bargain with your freedom! The right attorney makes all the difference between your freedom and incarceration!