What are the elements or factors for 243(d) Battery With Serious Bodily Injury?
Under California Penal Code 243(d) PC, an aggravated battery occurs when:
- One person willfully touches another in a harmful or offensive manner; and
- The person who has been touched suffers a “serious bodily injury” as a result.
The crime of aggravated battery is considered as a “wobbler” in California law. This means that it may be charged as either a California misdemeanor or a California felony.
Misdemeanor battery causing serious injury is punishable by:
- A fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000)
- Up to one (1) year in county jail, and/or
- For felony aggravated battery, the potential penalties include:
- Two (2), three (3) or four (4) years in county jail, and/or
- A fine of up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000).
How can we defend you against charges of California Penal Code 243(d) Battery With Serious Bodily Injury?
Some common legal defenses that can be helpful against aggravated battery charges include:
- The alleged battery was actually an accident;
- You acted in self-defense or defense of others; and
- The injury was not actually “serious.”
We have been successfully defending clients facing all types of criminal charges in Sonoma and Marin Counties, since 1992.
The 100 Trial Lawyers Association has recognized us as one of the best criminal defense attorneys in the country!
Please call our office today at (707) 571-8600 in our centrally located Santa Rosa office in Sonoma County or call our office in San Rafael in Marin County at (415) 492-4507 to schedule a free and confidential case evaluation.
Don’t bargain with your freedom! The right attorney makes all the difference between your freedom and incarceration!
Please CLICK HERE to visit our dedicated page on battery charges for more info.